Freshwater Academy

Fresh Water Academy was founded in 2010. It is home to four lovely young ladies of learning and their dedicated teachers. Located in the wilds of Wyoming, the name Fresh Water Academy was chosen as a Western analogy to Christ. Just as He is the Living Water, and we must have Him to have eternal life, any desert dweller knows the importance of fresh water to life, both for self, and the nourishment of crops or livestock. By taking nourishment in God and His word, we strengthen our own relationship with Him, our faith, and the quality and abundance of our fruitfulness.

Our keystone verse is from Jeremiah, Chapter 17, Verse 8: "For he shall be as a tree planted by the waters, and that spreadeth out her roots by the river, and shall not see when heat cometh, but her leaf shall be green; and shall not be careful in the year of drought, neither shall cease from yielding fruit."

The fruit that we speak of is mentioned in Galatians 5:22
"22But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, 23Meekness, temperance: against such there is no law."

And the heat could be anything we experience that might test our faith in God; trials and tribulations, relationships, anything that focuses our love and attention anywhere but on Him...

Tuesday, March 25, 2014

Debbie Macomber's Blossom Street Brides

Debbie Macomber's done it again!  I absolutely loved this one.  Blossom Street  is just a wonderful place, and I have grown to love the characters who live, work, and shop there.

If you haven't read it yet, run out and get your copy today (I'll wait)!

For all you fantastic Macomber fans out there, Debbie Macomber and Walmart are currently hosting a Blossom Street Brides Sweepstakes.  You can check out all the details and enter to win right here!

Tuesday, March 11, 2014

The All You Can Dream Buffet by Barbara O'Neal!


https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/941508.Barbara_O_Neal

Perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah and Susan Wiggs—Barbara O’Neal’s new novel of food, friendship, and the freedom to grow your dreams brings together four very different women longing to savor the true taste of happiness.
 
Popular blogger and foodie queen Lavender Wills reigns over Lavender Honey Farms, a serene slice of organic heaven nestled in Oregon wine country. Lavender is determined to keep her legacy from falling into the profit-driven hands of uncaring relatives, and she wants an heir to sustain her life’s work after she’s gone. So she invites her three closest online friends—fellow food bloggers, women of varied ages and backgrounds—out to her farm. She hopes to choose one of them to inherit it—but who?

There’s Ginny, the freckle-faced Kansas cake baker whose online writing is about to lead her out of a broken marriage and into a world of sensual delights. And Ruby, young, pregnant, devoted to the organic movement, who’s looking for roots—and the perfect recipe to heal a shattered heart. Finally, Val, smart and sophisticated, a wine enthusiast who needs a fresh start for her teenage daughter after tragedy has rocked their lives. Coming together will change the Foodie Four in ways they could never have imagined, uniting them in love and a common purpose. As they realize that life doesn’t always offer a perfect recipe for happiness, they also discover that the moments worth savoring are flavored with some tears, a few surprises, and generous helping of joy.






Barbara O'Neal has once again managed to capture the secret hopes, dreams and fears of her audience. Captivated by this story, I stayed up late last night to finish reading. Her characters are real, complex, and as a reader, I can pick out pieces of myself or people that I know in each of them.

Tuesday, March 4, 2014

Turn Up the Heat! Available TODAY!

http://www.amazon.com/Turn-Heat-Pine-Mountain-Novel/dp/1420132830/ref=tmm_mmp_title_0
 It's release day for Kimberly Kincaid's first full length novel, and the kickoff to her Pine Mountain series, Turn Up the Heat!

There are only so many times a girl can hear those words before she believes that it is, in fact, very much her. Unexpectedly jilted by her locally famous boyfriend and haunted by a boss who makes Attila the Hun look like a lap dog, Bellamy Blake does what any self-respecting girl in her shoes would do. She rounds up her two best girlfriends and makes plans to get the hell out of Dodge.

But Bellamy's escape plan takes a nose dive on the side of rural route 164 when her transmission self-destructs, leaving her in the middle of a cell phone dead zone with nothing but her wits. Oh, and Shane Griffin, the hottest mechanic who's ever checked under her hood.

Yet this small-town man isn't all he seems. Can Shane and Bellamy prove that sometimes the most unlikely ingredients make the most deliciously sexy mix?



---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Not only does she have the best heroes, but the female characters aren't any slouches either!

Whew! This fabulous author definitely turned up the heat! I have read every single one of her novels (so far), so I knew from the beginning that this story would probably have more “steam” than I usually like to read, but I also knew that I absolutely had to read it.

I need to mention that if you don't care for steamy scenes in your novels, or a little language, you probably want to give Turn Up The Heat a pass, but if you are a fan of great characters and a fabulous storyline, then this is the read for you. There is a bit of language, but it suits the characters.

You can't have a great romance without a great hero, but this author has not settled for a great hero alone, but matched him move for move with an intelligent, strong, stubborn female heroine, who makes you love her too!

I absolutely loved Shane and Bellamy's story! Make sure you check out Turn up the Heat by Kimberly Kincaid!


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Turn Up the Heat is available in Paperback, and on Kindle, or Nook!




You can find more of Kimberly Kincaid on Amazon, , on Facebook, Twitter, and Goodreads!
You can also sign up for her newsletter, Love Goggles, at kimberlykincaid.com.  

Saturday, March 1, 2014

Sunday, March 2, 2014 (playlist)

Sunday, March 2, 2014 (playlist)

Laundry Soap Recipe


1/3 bar Fels Naptha
1/2 cup washing soda
1/2 cup borax powder
2 gallon (at least) container

And...LOTS OF WATER!

Grate the soap & put it in a saucepan.  Add 6 cups water & heat until soap melts. Add the washing soda & borax. Stir until dissolved. Remove from heat.  Pour 4 cups hot water into the container.  Add soap mixture into the container & stir.  Add 1 gallon plus 6 cups of water & stir.  Cover and let sit overnight to gel.

I triple this recipe for a 5 gallon bucket of soap.  Today I'm septupling it to make two buckets - one for use, and one so I don't have to skip laundry for a day so I wait for the next batch to gel!

Freshwater: Homemade Repost Laundry Soap

I'm re-posting this, because the search has stopped working on my blog page, and I can't even find the darn recipe!!!!!  Hopefully someone else out there will find it useful!





Freshwater: Homemade: Okay, we know about homemade cookies, candies, cakes, bread...and if you have recipes to share, I am all ears!  But what else do you make?  ...